Научно-Исследовательский Институт Проблем Биологической Безопасности

SCIENTISTS FROM THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE FOR BIOLOGICAL SAFETY PROBLEMS TESTED OWN COVID-19 VACCINE ON THEMSELVES

At the Scientific Research Institute for Biological Safety Problems of the Science Committee of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan (hereinafter – RIBSP), on July 26, 2020, five scientists-developers headed by Director General Zakarya K.D. were vaccinated with QazCovid-in – own inactivated COVID-19 vaccine and the next day after observing the vaccinated employees and receiving information that the vaccine was safe, 2 more employees were vaccinated (doctors of science, professors: Kutumbetov L.B. (the first received the vaccine) , Khairullin B.M., Orynbayev M.B., Sultankulova K.T., Abdurayimov Ye.O., Nurabayev S.Sh.). Vaccination made it possible to fully reproduce the I/II phase of the planned clinical trials of the QazCovid-in®-inactivated COVID-19 vaccine, developed in the RIBSP.

Vaccination was necessary for the complete epidemiological protection of NIIPBB researchers who are directly carrying out research work on the development of technology for the manufacture and testing of the first domestic vaccine against COVID-19. In the event of a natural contamination of these researchers with COVID-19, the Institute would be deprived of the most valuable specialists, performing the most important state task of developing a domestic vaccine for a long time.

Vaccination with your own vaccine is an unspoken scientific standard of developers of medical and immunobiological preparations, when the developer, first of all, must investigate the safety and immunogenicity of his own development, and secondly, take full responsibility for the results and quality of his research, thus, ensuring the safety of future volunteers who will take part in clinical trials.

Vaccinated employees are monitored daily. As of 4 August 2020, all vaccinated employees are clinically healthy, demonstrating the safety of the vaccine. Studies of biochemical and hematological analysis of blood and urine are carried out, as well as the level of antibodies in blood serum by ELISA and in the neutralization reaction.

As a result of the vaccination carried out before the start of clinical trials, vaccine developers receive valuable information about the safety and immunogenicity of the vaccine when immunizing the population of the Republic of Kazakhstan in comparison with the results of preclinical tests of the vaccine on laboratory animals.

One of the latest examples of vaccination of developers with their own vaccine is vaccination of employees of Vector STU in Novosibirsk and the Research Institute of Epidemiology and Microbiology after Gamaley, Moscow. Russian scientists have vaccinated employees of their institutes with vaccines against Covid-19, developed by these scientific centers before the official start of clinical trials.

Научно-исследовательский институт проблем биологической безопасности

УЧЕНЫЕ НИИ ПРОБЛЕМ БИОЛОГИЧЕСКОЙ БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ ИСПЫТАЛИ НА СЕБЕ СОБСТВЕННУЮ ВАКЦИНУ ПРОТИВ COVID-19

В Научно-исследовательском институте проблем биологической безопасности Комитета науки Министерства образования и науки Республики Казахстан (далее — НИИПББ) 26 июля 2020 года проведена вакцинация 5 ученых-разработчиков во главе с генеральным директором Закарья К.Д. собственной инактивированной против COVID-19 QazCovidin и на следующий день после наблюдения за вакцинированными сотрудниками и получения сведений о том, что вакцина безопасна была проведена вакцинация ещё 2 сотрудников (доктора наук, профессора: Кутумбетов Л.Б. (первый получил вакцину), Хайруллин Б.М., Орынбаев М.Б., Султанкулова К.Т., Абдураимов Е.О., Нурабаев С.Ш.). Вакцинация позволила полностью воспроизвести I/II фазу планируемых клинических исследований QazCovid-in®-вакцины инактивированной против COVID-19, разработанной в НИИПББ.

Вакцинация была необходима для полной эпидемиологической защиты научных сотрудников НИИПББ, непосредственно выполняющих научно-исследовательскую работу по разработке технологии изготовления и испытаний первой отечественной вакцины против COVID-19. В случае натурального заражения данных научных сотрудников COVID-19 институт надолго лишался самых ценных специалистов, выполняющих важнейшую государственную задачу разработки отечественной вакцины.

Вакцинация собственной вакциной является негласным научным стандартом разработчиков медицинских и иммунобиологических препаратов, когда разработчик, в-первую очередь, на себе должен исследовать безопасность и иммуногенность собственной разработки, и во-вторых принимать на себя полную ответственность за результаты и качество своих исследований, таким образом, гарантируя безопасность будущих добровольцев, которые примут участие в клинических испытаниях.

За вакцинированными сотрудниками ежедневно проводится клиническое наблюдение. По состоянию на 4 августа 2020 года все вакцинированные сотрудники клинически здоровы, что свидетельствует о безопасности вакцины. Проводятся исследования биохимического и гематологического анализа крови и мочи, а также определен уровень антител в сыворотке крови методом ИФА и в реакции нейтрализации.

В результате проведенной вакцинации перед началом клинических исследований разработчики вакцины получают ценнейшую информацию о безопасности и иммуногенности вакцины при иммунизации населения РК в сравнении с результатами доклинических испытаний вакцины на лабораторных животных.

Одним из последних примеров вакцинации разработчиков собственной вакциной является вакцинация сотрудников НТО Вектор г. Новосибирск и НИИ эпидемиологии и микробиологии им. Гамалея г. Москва. Российские ученые провели вакцинацию сотрудников своих институтов вакцинами против Covid-19, разработанных данными научными центрами перед официальным началом клинических исследований.